cliche’

this post is two-fold.  first, here are 10 of the most meaningful things i am thankful for in my life. 
  • my husband – he is my best friend.  after 10 years, i still get a certain sensation anytime i hear him say my name (even if he’s mad at me while saying it).  i have no idea where i would be or WHO i would be if he wasn’t a part of my life.  he truly is my other half and i don’t know what i’d do without him around…i know i wouldn’t laugh as much, that’s for sure.  i hate that all of that really doesn’t mean much to someone reading it because that’s what anyone who has a good marriage would say, but it’s SO true.
  • my children – can’t really put into words how thankful i am that the Lord has blessed me with two little girls to care for.  yeah…i’m not even going to try.
  • my home – although i complalin about where i live and i definitely dream about having a house one day, i’m still very thankful for our condo.  it’s nice that we own it and can do pretty much whatever we want to it (short of knocking down walls).  i’ve blogged about this before.  (also, i haven’t forgotten that i’m supposed to post picures of our new floor…it’s coming soon, i promise…i’m waiting until we get a new table.)
  • my country – these days i’m sure everyone has a long list of things they’d change about the government and the economy, etc, etc; but i think when we compare our country/freedoms to others in the world, we’d all say that we’re glad we’re american.  i am proud to be an amercian and i’m very thankful that this is where i was born.  america is a beautiful wonderful place, for sure.
  • my health – i have always been a healthy person.  i get sick like once a year and that’s it.  i’ve only had two real injuries (broken arm in second grade and a severe sprained ankle in college) in my life.  i’ve had two amazing pregnancies (knock on wood) and two successful c-sections (definitely not by my choice, but they were both textbook, so that’s good).  i cannot imagine what it would be like to live with a disability or a disease.  i have GREAT respect for people who don’t have good health but are still in good spirits.
  • my extended family – i’ve been blessed with a LARGE group of very cool, very caring people that i get to call family (in-laws included, of course).  i hope i never take them for granted. 
  • my God – it would be foolish for me to try to put into words how thankful i am to be a child of our God.  He has blessed me far beyond what i deserve or imagined.  i fall short daily (hourly).
  • my abilities – i’ve been given many gifts and i’m very thankful for that.  i love finding new ways to use the talents God has given me.  it makes me happy.  (i know that sounds cocky, but i don’t mean it to.)
  • my friends – i can honestly say that i’ve never been in a stage in life when i haven’t had a least one really good friend.  i know that that is not a common thing and i hope i never take it for granted.  if i had only my husband to talk to, i could manage (and wouldn’t mind), but talking to a man is never the same as venting to a good girlfriend.  plus, ryan makes fun
  • my experiences – of course, not all of my life experiences have been positive.  a few weeks ago i was thinking about regrets that i’ve had, and i honestly could only think of one thing that i would’ve changed, and it was a measly 2 month dating relationship after high school.  i feel like everything that’s happened to me has either blessed me or truly taught me something about God or life in general.

second, here are 10 things that i could live without, but am very thankful i don’t have to:

  • shower puff – a shower isn’t the same without it (and some super hot water)
  • the internet – do i even need to elaborate on this?
  • baby monitor – this is a key factor to my girls’ sharing a room
  • noggin – 24 hour “preschool on tv” with NO commercials…my pinch hitter never fails
  • dvr – one of my favorite technological luxuries…if you have it, YOU KNOW
  • flip-flops – so glad i live in south florida because i’d look pretty stupid tramping around in the snow in my leather quiksilvers
  • lotion – i cannot stand even a hint of dryness in my skin (thanks to a few months of accutane in high school…again, if you used it, YOU KNOW)
  • junk food – be it some type of little debbie snack cake or a bacon cheeseburger from sonic, junk food is one of life’s simple pleasures
  • music – i think music adds a layer to life that we don’t comprehend.  if there was no such thing as music we would all be very sad people (and it would really limit the ways we could praise the Lord)
  • body pillow – yes, i can sleep without it, but i’d rather not.  makes all the difference in the world.
2 Comments to “cliche’”

  1. I love this post and I am thankful for you, friend/”extended family.” 🙂

  2. you are a better person than I cause I am not sure I could live without flip flops!

Leave a Reply

