Opie

img_1527-small.jpg

this is opie.  he was our dog for 2 years and 2 weeks.  we had to give him to a shelter today because we can no longer afford to pay for his medical bills.  he has had problems since the first month we got him, and we’ve always been strained financially to pay for them, but it had gotten to the point where it wasn’t fair to him to keep him and not take him to the vet.  he has serious allergies/terrible skin, and this last week was absolutely miserable for him.  all he did for 4 days was scratch and sleep.  it was hard to watch.  diagnosing allergies is a very expensive/time-consuming process and we can’t afford to give much in either area right now..

i was an absolute wreck when i took him to the shelter this morning.  they had assured me that he would most likely be turned over to a special bulldog rescue group, so that’s what i’m hoping.  he is a very cool-looking dog and i don’t want someone to adopt him just because of that, not knowing how high maintenance he is.  after i left, i kept smelling my hands (i had just been petting him for probably an hour straight), and thinking about how i will never see him again.  it was THE hardest thing i’ve ever done.  i feel like i gave up on him.  i feel like it would’ve been easier to put him down than give him away. 

he was a loyal member of our family and will be greatly missed.  it’s only been 3 hours since he’s been gone and i’m already starting to realize that a good part of my day was scheduled around him.  weird not to walk him just after i put harper down.  SO weird not to hear him snoring at the front door as i type this blog.  i think i’ll miss his snoring more than anything.

here are some other things i loved about him:  he had to drink out of a rodent water bottle because if he lapped out of a bowl, he’d drip water everywhere; his mouth watered like crazy when i poured his food into his dish; he burped like a person; he LOVED harper since the day we brought her home from the hospital; he could run really fast for a short distance; he loved to jump up on things (he sat in a chair next to me while we were in the waiting room this morning); he had a really sad whine; his ears were super soft and his muzzle felt just like a horse’s nose; sometimes he slept with his tongue sticking out (SO cute!); he loved ice and i will miss him everytime i open the freezer and he doesn’t come running…

5 Comments to “Opie”

  1. I just read this to Brian and we both teared up…bless your heart.

  2. Katie… that’s so hard. I’m sorry I didn’t know when I saw you this weekend 😦 I’ll be praying for you guys.

  3. i am balling right now! omg, you will be in my prayers I know how much this dog meant to you! I LOVE YOU

  4. I’m sorry to hear you had to give up your dog. I know I would be very sad too if I had to give up Amos. Opie is a handsome little guy. {Hugs}

  5. Aw Katie, I’m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

