R

restaurants:  maybe i should’ve put this under “E” for eating out…  i love eating out.  i love that i don’t have to cook, someone waits on me, and there is usually a large variety of deliciousness to choose from.  we try not to eat out too often (usually twice in a week) because of budget reasons, but that makes it all the more fun when we do.  i guess i could type a list of restaurants that i really like, but it would be really, really long.  plus, i pretty much like anything that i don’t have to cook, whether it’s burger king or a seafood place on the water.

running:  throughout my years in elementary, junior, and high school i hated to run.  i always knew it was good for me, i just didn’t like it.  up until 10th grade, i played softball in the spring, but was never really an outstanding player (my sophomore year i was petrified to hit against our own pitcher –  she had been featured in sports illustrated for how fast she was).  so spring semester of my junior year rolled around and i decided i wanted to try to run track.  it may have remotely had something to do with a few of the boys on the team, and maybe one of the coaches (my hot history teacher), but i decided that i wanted to get in good shape.  my parents had taught me that once you start something, you don’t quit, so i knew once i went to that first day of practice, i was in it until april.  i don’t know when it was that i realized i really liked running, but i remember how i started adding up all our laps and turning them into miles and feeling very proud of myself.  i had never known i could push myself so hard.  at our first meet i signed up, along with my best friend who also hated running, for the mile.  she got so mad at me when i left her halfway through.  she still hates running.  🙂  senior year i got really into the 800 and our coach made us do alot of distance training.  oh dear coach king, if you only knew what you started.  those 4 mile timed runs to train for running two laps instilled in me a LOVE for running.  i ran cross country for two years in college (and got $600 a year).  i still run several times a week.  i haven’t ever been in cross-country shape again, but i still love it just as much (probably more, now that it’s totally my choice when i go).  i love the taste of lactic acid in my mouth, the sound of my breathing, and the feeling of getting that second wind.  i pray the Lord keeps my body healthy so i can run for a long, long time.

Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.  Psalm 37:7

3 Responses to “R”

  1. I just want you to know that I love reading your blog. And I love you! 🙂

  2. Surely, I say to you … Some of your love for running came from your dear old dad. Remember when He ……???

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

