B

birthdays: today happens to be mine, but it’s not just mine that i love.  some people think that celebrating birthdays promotes materialism and other negative things, but i think birthdays are a great way to show someone how special they are.  it’s one day out of 365 that we can honor them for being them…not because they’re a mom, not because they’re our boss, but because they were born.  birthdays are also a great time to reflect on where you were a year ago, where you want to be next year, and to think back on fun birthday memories.  i remember freshman year in college, it was my first birthday away from home and my parents sent me a care package filled with junk food and party supplies.  my friends snuck into my room, took all the party stuff, and secretly decorated the 4th floor lounge.  they made me a cake and then blindfolded me and brought me into the lounge and…”SURPRISE!!!”  they had all made sweet notes to me and put them together to make a book.  i cried.  🙂  i love my birthday this year because it’s one of my “off” days in the month of no sweets.  i had 2 chocolate cupcakes before 10:30 this morning (thanks, kathleen!!!).  🙂

burgers: i LOVE a good hamburger.  right now Five Guys is my favorite…not sure if it’ll ever be topped.  mmmm…i can taste it!  ketchup, mustard, mayo, lettuce, tomato, & pickles…

buerke: my maiden name.  this might be terrible, but even though i’ve been married for 5 years now and am of course more than honored to be a part of the hobbie family, i still like the one-syllable-no-“E”-sound-on-the-end name better.  also, i absolutely adore my family and that’s their name…that’s another reason i love “buerke”.  [it’s not that i don’t like the name “hobbie”, it’s just that i think “katie hobbie” sounds goofy.  that’s why none of our kids’ names with end with the “e” sound.]

Be still and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10

7 Comments to “B”

  1. as for burgers…i think your husband makes a WAY better burger than Five Guys. his is my favorite! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! 🙂 And I don’t think your name sounds funny. I think it’s kinda nice that it seems to go together since they are similar. I also can’t believe how many words harper knows!! Paul’s still on the slow side of that!!

  3. another addition to the “B” list…beach??

  4. WoW … I kinda of like the name Buerke, too. I think it sounds so c-o-o-o-l. I like birthdays better when thay are someone elses; especially, someone I love. It is a grand time to shower them with gifts and praises.

    i think God gave us birthdays, so we would be alive. Now, how is that for profound.

  5. Another “B” word is booger. Won’t be long and that cute little Harper will be enjoying the ritual of an afternoon snack at her favorite nose. ugh! Dad that is nasty.

Leave a Reply

